Sound Plasma 2022

The 6th edition of the festival experiments with new intonation ideas with a flavour of electroacoustic music. For the first time, a particular focus on music from Switzerland takes place in Tallinn and Berlin.

Festival’s highlights include the performances of Ensemble Phoenix Basel, as well as the hour-long piece for 9 keyboards and 9 computers by Enno Poppe. The full length performance of a special piece by Peter Ablinger, which was developed together with the flutist Erik Drescher, during the lock-downs, will receive its Estonian premiere by Mr. Drescher and Mr. Ablinger themselves. World premiere of pieces by Demetre Gamsachurdia, Aleksander Gabrys, Sami Klemola, Sander Saarmets, Matthias S. Krüger and Liisa Hõbepappel are other important events in Sound Plasma 2022.

Sound Plasma version 6 wants to explore a musical language that is not classical or established, even within the microtonal or intonation-based music. For this we found works, and composers, that fear not to use the old and the new and the technology and the tradition freely in order to create their special voice. Rather predictably a strong presence of electronic sounds emerged in our program.

The festival reaches out to the Swiss music scene not only because of the impeccable quality of the music/performances but because of the nurturing effect the Swiss musical culture has on developing special and uncompromisingly unique musical voices.

The current edition of the festival dares to explore a brand new point of view with a basis in the electronic, and sometimes corny, sounds of the 60s and 70s.

12th of November 2022

Venue: Kanuti Gildi SAAL

19:30 defunensemble (Finland) and Ensemble for New Music Tallinn (Estonia)


Enno Poppe “Rundfunk” for nine synthesizers and nine computers (2018)

ENMT in Berlin

24th of November 2022

18:30 Ensemble for New Music Tallinn (Estonia)

Aleksander Gabrys: »Nevermore« (2022, world premiere)
Demetre Gamsachurdia: »CRAVE« (2022, world premiere)
Sander Saarmets: »and the sky turned yellow« (2022, world premiere)
Sami Klemola: »Canvas IIb« (2022, world premiere)
Liisa Hõbepappel: »The jangling lightness of solice« (2022, world premiere)